ZHONG CHENG

  • Zhong Cheng 2022 Autumn Auction「Modern And Contemporary Art」
    • Download

    151

    ZHOU CHUNYA(b.1955)

    Ya\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'an Shangli, 94, No.5

    1994

    Oil on Canvas
    100 x 80 cm

    Signed Zhou Chunya in Chinese and dated 1994 Signed on the reverse: Zhou Chunya and titled in Chinese, size 100 x 80 cm, dated 1994

    Estimate TWD 12,000,000-15,000,000
    USD 387,100-483,900
    HKD 0-0

    Hammer Price TWD 14,400,000
    USD 448,458
    HKD 3,529,412

Provenance:Private Collection, Asia Purchased at Christie\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s, Hong Kong, November 29, 2015, Lot 151

Illustrated:

Exhibition:

Exposition:

Whether it is the perspective revealed in his paintings, or the colors he chose to depict, Zhou Chunya has always been best known for his bold painting style. The spirit captured under his brush stroke, Zhou Chunya once said: "My ideal form of spiritual expression in art is dynamic and sensitive rather than the static permanence and standardized portrayal." Seemingly a self-fulfilling prophecy, this concept persists especially throughout the early and middle part of his career. Free from people's expectations, the landscape paintings created by Zhou Chunya are often not just simulating the reality with a little bit of artist’s inspiration. Instead, amplification of a particular part, commonly seen in his paintings and the depiction of unexpected angles are incorporated into his canvases as a whole. At a first glance, the main subjects, mountains and rocks, are nowhere to be found. Whereas as you take a closer look, they are always there in front of us, it's the unforeseen illusion which perplexes us.

Having studied in the Kassel Academy in Germany in his early days, Zhou Chunya has explored the field of Impressionism and Cubism under the influence of art theory in Europe. During his studies, he deeply explored the beauty within the primitive wildness under a great influence from neo-expressionism. After returning to China, he combined what he has observed overseas together with the spirit of literati landscape painting from his motherland. His painting portrays elegance yet the vigorousness, artfully integrates two extreme elements from Eastern and Western into one. Even with such a background, Zhou Chunya is an artist who is resistant to be classified. Regarded as an avant-garde artist, a neo-expressionist and so on, all these titles imposed on him by people have been once explicitly rejected by him in one interview. Only saying that he is "different", he hardly wants these existing titles to define him, his only pursuit is to honestly express himself at every stage.

In the early 1990s, Zhou Chunya began a period with his series of paintings "landscape and female body". At the beginning, the colors from his paintings still tended to be cool, yet the texture of the stone has been depicted in such a detail. At the same time, the women body painting has also became his focus. Both themes of landscape in the early stage and the woman body later on began to merge into one. Few years later, Zhou Chunya has chosen bolder and brighter colors. As shown in his artwork Ya'an Shangli, 94, No.5, the color blood red has been applied as it brings the direct impression of the combination of blood and flesh. It seems like a part of a living body at a very first glance. The overlapping of various shades of red creates an illusion of a living being. As well as taking advantage of his own strengths with stone texture depiction, Zhou Chunya richly depicts various textures in this street scene. The white color rendered in the center of the painting with the misty winding path brought this rigid painting a delicate touch of softness, the increasing flow adds more charm to the whole painting.

Shangli Town belongs to the famous rain city—Ya'an city in China. The ancient stone pathway in the ancient town is always heavy with moisture, people's contemplation and emotions arouse inevitably, so does Zhou Chunya’s. In a series of paintings depicting Ya'an Shangli, the main tone is bright red. Looking through Zhou Chunya's paintings, having such pure and expressive colors is also relatively distinctive. As an artist being honest with his true feelings, Zhou Chunya expresses directly beyond words in his paintings the state of his life at that time. In his prime, he turned the splendor of life into flesh-colored stones, there they are standing alone proudly, a perfect expression has fully revealed the blooming moments in the artist's life.

View More Works

中誠拍賣

  • 中誠2022年秋季拍賣「現代與當代藝術」
    • 文件下載

    151

    周春芽

    雅安上里 94 五號

    1994

    油彩 畫布
    100 x 80 cm

    簽名:周春芽 1994 畫背簽名:周春芽《雅安上裏94五號》100 x 80 cm 1994

    預估價 TWD 12,000,000-15,000,000
    USD 387,100-483,900
    HKD 0-0

    成交價 TWD 14,400,000
    USD 448,458
    HKD 3,529,412

來源:私人收藏,亞洲 購自佳士得拍賣行,香港, 2015年11月29號,Lot 151

圖錄:

展覽:

作品備註:

周春芽的畫風,向來以大膽聞名,無論是繪畫切入的視角,或是用色皆然。對於自己的運筆所捕捉的,周春芽曾經有自述過:「我的理想是動態的、敏感的表現而不是靜態、模式化的呈現。」這句話也彷彿自我預言般,貫穿了周春芽的創作核心,尤其早期、中期的表現更是如此,周春芽的風景畫,往往非大眾所預期的那樣,以真實的模擬為重,再加上些許寫意來著墨畫家心中所希望傳達的意象。他的畫總是放大局部,用出人意料之外的角度切割、收納進他的畫布裡,乍看之下,周春芽所畫的山非山、石非石,但再仔細凝視,山石原本就在,只是人們一時沒看清。

周春芽早期曾赴德國卡賽爾學院留學,受到歐洲繪畫理論的洗禮,並對印象主義、立體主義多有研究,在學期間,接收許多新表現主義的薰陶,深入透探究其中的原始狂野之美,回國以後,結合在外的所見所聞,以及來自自身風土的山水文人畫養分,展現出既淡雅又濃烈的畫面,巧妙地將兩方衝突的元素融合為一。雖然有著這樣的背景,但周春芽是個不喜歡被歸類的藝術家,他曾在一次訪談中,明確拒絕了所有外人加諸在他身上的現有名詞:前衛藝術家、新表現主義⋯⋯等等,他只說自己「不一樣」,他不喜歡被現有的名詞所侷限,只想誠實地表現出每一個階段的自己。

在1990年代初期,周春芽開始了一段「山水與女體」的時期,一開始,他的用色仍偏向冷色系,但對石頭的紋理已描繪得十分細緻,同時期,他亦著重於繪畫女體,並且前後者開始走向融合的現象,過幾年,在《雅安上里 94 五號》中可以看到,周春芽的用色已更大膽明亮,在此畫中使用了如血色一般的艷麗紅,因為此種顏色的慣性印象,會將血與肉與之連結,乍看之下,宛如一具活體的局部,多種深淺的紅色之間互相交疊,竟產生了一種類似生命的錯覺,周春芽亦發揮了他擅長的石紋描繪,在這街景當中,豐富地刻畫了各樣的紋理,畫中央的白色,如霧氣般的蜿蜒小路,為硬質的畫帶來一絲柔軟,增加了整幅畫的流動感,更添韻味。

雅安市的上里鎮,是中國著名的雨城,老城市中總是潮濕著的古道與石頭,必然引起人們的幽思與情懷,周春芽亦是如此。在描繪雅安上里的一系列畫作,皆是以艷紅色為主基調,綜觀周春芽的畫作中,這樣純然濃烈的用色,也是相對特殊的。像周春芽這般真性情的藝術家,畫作更是直接、超越言語的傳達了他當時的生命狀態,正值盛壯年的他,將生命的艷瀲,化為肉色石頭,矗立在那,完整的表達了藝術家生命綻放的一瞬。

View More Works