ZHONG CHENG

    • of 0 lots
    • Download

    192

    ZAO WOUKI (1921-2013)

    Lovers on a Boat

    1950

    Oil on Canvas
    46.3 x 55.2 cm

    Signed Wou KI in Chinese and ZAO in English Signed on the reverse: Signed ZAO WOU-KI in English, dated 1950.11

    Estimate TWD 23,000,000-32,000,000
    USD 751,100-1,045,100
    HKD 0-0

    Hammer Price TWD 29,600,000
    USD 972,724
    HKD 7,668,394

With a certificate of authenticity from the Zao Wou Ki Foundation

Provenance:

Illustrated:

Exhibition:

Exposition:This following work has been registered in the Archive of the Zao Wou-Ki foundation, Francois Marquet is currently preparation for the "Zao Wou-Ki Chronological Collection" (Information provided by

I thought all painters construe their works as being realistic. To others, however, they are construed as being abstract.
- Zao Wou-Ki

There is a passage in Zao Wou-Ki’s memoir about setting sail from Shanghai and arriving in France for study on April 1, 1948. The moment he arrived in Paris, he headed straight to the Louvre, taking in the masterpieces with exhilaration. He saw art like never before. For a long while, Zao hardly painted. He spent most of his time learning French, and visiting museums, galleries, and concerts. In order to reinvent his techniques, he intentionally gave up ink painting, which he had mastered in China. Paris, the capital of art at the time, was where Zao tried to learn from all schools and styles. In particular, he preferred Rembrandt, who upheld the renaissance tradition, and the Spanish Romantic painter, Goya. Zao often visited Académie de la Grande Chaumière, where he made acquaintances with many who went on to become master painters themselves, including Hans Hartung, Nicolas de Staël, Pierre Soulages, Vieira da Silva and Sam Francis. Zao’s mindset changed during this time. 

In 1949, Zao made his first attempt at lithograph. Blessed by fate, he met Godet, the publisher of Picasso’s work who referred Zao’s work to poet Henri Michaux. Micheaux even wrote eight poems titled, Lecture par Henri Michaux de huit lithographies de Zao Wou-Ki. The romantic yet concise poems spoke Zao’s heart. Zao once mentioned how Henri Micheaux inspired him, “Knowing Michaux was a decisive moment for me. His attention to my work gave me confidence. Whenever I am in doubt, his words enable me to conquer, to continue and to restart.” Meanwhile, Zao continued to travel in France and other European countries. He developed a unique oil painting style with line art, line carving, and flat wash, in which abstraction and symbolism seep. With perspective and scattered point perspective, his colors diverge beyond the form. Zao once commented on this, “I spent a lot of time in churches viewing the frescoes, wanting to know how to capture a three-dimensional world in two dimensions with perspective. I also analyzed the relation among figures in the composition. I painted a lot of landscape, architecture and nature containing humans and animals. However, they are no longer the subjects, but a structural and integral element of the universe.” Lovers on a Boat was completed in 1950, marking Zao’s gradual departure from figurative painting, and initiating the clash between Chinese modern art and Western art in the mid-20th century, a journey where the two collided, sparked, diverged and fused, ultimately reborn. His abstract fully exemplifies Xieyi, foretelling the arrival of the Oracle Bone Series in the mid-1950s, where emotions are rooted in a series of symbolic motifs.

Lyrical and Splendid Symbiosis between East and West

Zao Wou-Ki talked about his creative philosophy in 1950 in Self-Portrait of Zao Wou-Ki, “My paintings had not yet been born. They were still taking shape in my brain. I had only my unshakeable conviction that I wanted to get them down on canvas, and I really wasn’t sure what form they would take there.” Zao had basked in Chinese calligraphy and painting since childhood. The transformation of such influence on his inner world and self-reflection is evident in his works during this period. When he created Lovers on a Boat, he had not seen Paul Klee’s painting. The composition may not possess the same poetic profoundness and sophistication, nor was the abstraction mature like his Klee-influenced period. However, his personal style, evident in the lines and symbols, was taking shape, and so was his determination to return to and renovate upon the root of Chinese painting. His friend, Henri Michaux, witnessed and profoundly understood such transformation. He said, “Zao Wou-Ki’s painting is formless, but still connected with nature in essence. Its tenacity is neither bizarre nor aloof. The warm and fluid colors are colors no more, but light that gushes out like rapids.” His words are insightful and touching. 

Seemingly without effort, Zao depicted a couple cruising along the river on a boat in Lovers on a Boat. Set against a unique brown tone, the color contrast is vivid and yet placid, warm and supple, like the orange red found in sunset. He created layers upon layers of colors that penetrate the heart of the visual perspective. The heaving mountains and endless woods afar create the visual dynamic that is vast, distant, rich and lonesome. His brushstrokes are concise and unimpeded, gently depicting two lovers’ outing on a boat with the moon shining above, and giving the piece a natural and unpretentious air. Zao cleverly connected to the style of the eight lithographs from 1949 with the spritely lines, simplistic form and leisurely image, a strong personal style. Zao said to his students later, “When you begin a new painting, ideally you should not start in the middle of the canvas, because that will make it almost impossible to determine the center's relationship to the rest of the composition. Colors, too, can never be used on their own; every hue and shade is connected to all other tones. The fact is that every single brushstroke has far-reaching implications for the entire painting, and you should not apply a single fleck of paint without keeping in mind the organic whole that you are about to create. Within the momentum that connects the entire painting, seek variations in the most succinct manner.”

When Zao was invited to show his work at the Galeries Nationales du Grand Palais in 1981, the Chinese French literary critic, François Cheng said "Zao Wou-Ki's artistic fate is not merely that of the individual. It is intimately tethered to the many thousand years of evolution of Chinese painting. This fact does not diminish the value of the artist’s personal exploration, but rather, enhances the emotional force of his accomplishments. In reality, when talking about what has been gained from his works, it can be said that the century-long anticipation in Chinese painting can now be put to rest. The symbiosis between East and West that should have occurred long ago has finally appeared for the first time. When critics look back on that decisive moment in the middle of the century, when Zao Wou-ki travelled from his distant home country to live in Paris, we will appropriately refer to it as a miracle. Miraculously, he found himself immediately, and gave himself fully to his work. The depths which he has plumbed and which he has expressed even today still astonish us.”

An Artistic Giant Surging with Brilliance

French art historian, Daniel Marchesseau once remarked on Zao, “Zao Wou-Ki places nature as the central idea of his art, enabling ancient traditions to confront the art of masters from the past and present in the West. While influenced by two drastically different visualities, he was fortunate in bringing harmonious synergy between Chinese–style composition and the rich colors of the West.” He embodies the poetic soul of Eastern and Western classics. Not only did he extract the essence of Chinese culture and art, he painted Chinese artistic conception with the abstract of romance. With lyrical magnificence, he guided viewers to roam freely in the vast and primitive universe. His art is literary and poetic. His works are among the collections of prominent art museums around the world. Highly regarded in the West and in the history of modern art, where numerous talents emerged, he also enjoyed prestige in the East, which is truly well deserved.

View More Works

中誠拍賣

    • of 0 lots
    • 文件下載

    192

    趙無極

    輕舟上的一對戀人

    1950

    油彩 畫布
    46.3 x 55.2 cm

    簽名:無極ZAO 背面簽名:ZAO WOU-KI 11.50

    預估價 TWD 23,000,000-32,000,000
    USD 751,100-1,045,100
    HKD 0-0

    成交價 TWD 29,600,000
    USD 972,724
    HKD 7,668,394

附趙無極基金會開立之原作保證書

來源:

圖錄:

展覽:

作品備註:此作品已登記在趙無極基金會之文獻庫,並將收於梵思娃‧馬凱及揚‧享德根正籌備編纂的《趙無極作品編年集》(資料由趙無極基金會提供)

「我以為所有畫家的創作對於其自身來說都是寫實的,但他們的創作對於別人來說才是抽象的。」---趙無極

華人抽象大師趙無極憑藉著其特殊的優美抽象線條與細膩的色彩表現,融會中西繪畫,以出神入化的油畫技巧,加之構築超凡脫俗的中國畫意境,凝聚出獨樹一幟且悠然曠遠的「抒情抽象畫」風格。作為東西文化藝術的橋梁者,趙無極在嚴謹的圓形筆觸中和自由的方型筆法中,交替運用出更具畫面感的詩意世界,渾厚且恣意流淌,在宇宙洪荒中熠熠發光,是為「西方現代抒情抽象派的代表」,亦是最受全球藝術界肯定的繪畫巨擘。於2002年,更當選法蘭西學院藝術院終身院士,多次獲法國榮譽勛位團第三級勳章、國家勛位團第三級勳章、藝術文學勛位團一級勳章、巴黎市榮譽獎章、日本帝國藝術大獎等。與美籍華人貝聿銘、美籍華人作曲家周文中同時譽為海外華人之「藝術三寶」。

負笈巴黎 具象遞變

在趙無極的自傳回憶錄裡,曾提到當年從上海出航,1948年4月1日終於抵達法國的留學過程。剛到巴黎時他就急忙趕往羅浮宮,興奮地飽覽西洋大師的作品,體驗未曾有過的觀看藝術的方式。有很長的時間,趙無極大半時間花在學法語,參觀美術館、畫廊,聽音樂會,幾乎很少畫畫,甚至為了重新執導創作技法,刻意放棄於中國業已圓熟的水墨創作。而在當時藝術思想興盛的巴黎,趙無極亦極力吸收各式畫風學派,尤以推崇追溯文藝復興的林布蘭與西班牙浪漫主義畫家哥雅,其中林布蘭豐富的質感與生動的用筆,趙無極甚為喜愛與深受影響;而野獸派色彩的狂放,立體派通過解析動作,分割平面,解構了現實空間,更是令趙無極驚歎不已,漸而幫助他開拓出新的藝術視野。日後,趙無極更經常流連大茅屋工作室,與此結識了許多畫家同好,不少畫家後來都成了藝術大師,如哈同、史塔耶、蘇拉吉、薇拉.達.西爾瓦、法蘭西斯等,於此趙無極亦轉變了不同的藝術心境。

1949年趙無極初嘗石版畫創作,有幸遇到曾出版畢卡索的畫冊的葛代(G.Godet)輾轉介紹他的作品給詩人亨利‧米修(Henri Michaux),米修甚至為這八幅寫了八首詩,題名為「讀趙無極八幅石版畫」,八首詩詩意浪漫、言簡意賅,他的註析相當契合藝術家自身的心境,於是透過米修的引薦,趙無極很快融入風雲際會的巴黎藝文圈,逐漸走向抽象表現主義繪畫之路。趙無極曾如此說明亨利‧米修對他的啟發:「認識他,對我有決定性的影響,因為米修對我作品的關注,給了我信心,每當我懷疑時,米修的話就會使我戰勝內心的疑惑,讓我繼續下去,重新出發。」日後多次與亨利‧米修交往,閱覽其詩文與繪畫作品,發現了蘊含於其中的詩意與生命的躍動,開啟了他對宇宙和諧與詩性的追求,漸而起首思考繪畫──文字──抽象三者之間的連結關係,亦為其自身的抽象創作轉變立下深刻地伏筆。與此同時,趙無極也陸續周遊法國和歐洲其他國家,同時發展出一種結合線描、線刻與平圖技法的簡筆具像油畫,畫面形象趨於符號化和抽象化,空間塑造間或使用定點散點透視,色彩游離於形象之外,為此,趙無極如此敘述:「我花了很多時間欣賞教堂裡的壁畫,我想了解怎麼樣利用平面的透視法旯畫空間,也分析人物的布局。而我也畫了很多風景、建築與大自然,其中有人物,也有動物,他們不再是主題,而是宇宙構成的元素,與宇宙是一體的。」1950年創作而成之《輕舟上的一對戀人》,是趙無極逐步脫離具象繪畫的指標作品,不僅由他就此開啟中國現代美術在二十世紀中葉與西方藝術衝撞、激盪、裂變、交融而新生的重要歷程,如此充滿東方寫意的抽象繪畫更預示著他即將於1950年中後期開創一系列象徵符號書寫情感的甲骨文系列繪畫。

抒情煥綺 東西合存

趙無極於《自畫像》中自述在1950年的創作想法:「我的畫還沒有誕生,它還在腦中醞釀,只有一股不可動搖的意念,要將它宣洩在畫布上,自己也不清楚它會是什麼模樣。」趙無極自幼即受到中國書法及繪畫的美感薰陶,與此時期的創作便可看出其中國繪畫逐漸在其心中的內省轉化與嶄新潛變。《輕舟上的一對戀人》創作當時並未遇見保羅‧克利(Paul Klee)的繪畫,創作的畫面構圖雖不似日後克利時期創作如詩般凝鍊深遠、抽象飛動完整,但他獨有的線條、符號已隱隱躍動著,依然可見趙氏決心回歸中國符號式繪畫的根源道路與開創革新。此幅畫中突破多層繪畫技巧,以油彩筆觸臻至乾溼參合的中國水墨意境描繪空間之輕盈,使符號蘊涵光影浮動於畫面中,相互激盪、交織,最終符號成為繪畫最佳詮釋的精簡造型,隱約蘊藏廣闊深度的神祕之感,延續並預示其日後將創作出無數跨越東西方的抽象繪畫大作。趙無極如此的創作轉變,好友亨利‧米修歷歷在目、深感於心,就此形容:「趙無極的畫已脫了形,但與自然的形仍骨肉相連,仍是帶韌性的,不詭異也不陌生,流動的溫暖的顏色變成已經不是顏色,而是光,放色的激流似的光。」甚為精闢動人。

於《輕舟上的一對戀人》中,趙無極輕巧細筆描繪一對戀人渡船遊覽風景,整體畫面以獨特棕褐色調為基底,用色對比鮮明而恬美,猶如夕陽中溫潤茜紅之澤感,層層張疊出透視空間色彩造型性之精髓。實與虛的各自表述與延展,架構了動與靜之間的對話,遠方連綿起伏之山群、林木,彰顯視覺遼闊遠遙的動態感,肌理豐富,巋然獨存;而簡潔暢快的筆調,溫柔描繪戀人兩人乘舟盪漾,手法溫柔如一行情詩,餘韻不盡的情感鋪陳已臻爐火純青之境。頂上明月初露,使作品呈現自然隨興之風格,細數戀人間的儷影雙雙、琴瑟美好之態。趙無極巧妙延續了1949年所完成的八件石板畫風格──筆觸線條輕快、造型簡化、意象隨興,潛意識的自動揮灑、色面的交錯滴留,以低調的、純淨的、本能的姿態,呈現強烈內心式的思維與情感。一如日後的繪畫教學中,趙無極就如此說明:「在開始一幅畫時,一定要著眼整體的布局。如果一開始就從中間下筆,就很難掌握它與其他部分的關係。色彩不能單獨使用,因為它不是單獨存在的。只要著上一筆,整個畫面都會跟著改變,如果觸及一點,就勢必要連帶更動其他地方,在整體的連貫一氣中,要以最精簡的方式求取變化。」

《輕舟上的一對戀人》裡趙無極捨棄具象繪畫技法,致力追求對於空間的深刻刻劃以及逐步除去單一形體的個別意涵,以示意性符號作為創作的主要工具,在畫中以中國式特有的藝術詩性、東方文字繪畫以及探究自然的中國哲理與自然大地間所隱藏的深意,轉實為虛進入縹緲的空靈抽象異想之中,步步回歸自身對於中國繪畫的根源,也預示其自身邁入抽象畫作的新天地,開創屬於其自身的抒情抽象風格。法國知名華裔文學家程抱一在趙無極於1981年受邀至巴黎大皇宮美術館參展時在序言中曾經這樣描述:「趙無極的藝術命運並非僅僅是個人的,它與數千年中國繪畫藝術的發展演變密切相關。得益於其人的作品,這一根本的事實非但不曾削弱藝術家個人探索的價值,反而使之更具打動人心的力量。事實上,得益於其人的作品,中國繪畫於其中滯留了超過一世紀的漫長期待似乎得以結束。於中西方之間早應發生的真正共生,第一次出現了,當評論家們憶起正在本世紀的中葉,藝術家從他遙遠的國度來到巴黎定居這個決定性的時刻,稱之為某種奇蹟是對的。彷彿奇蹟一般,他立刻找到了自己,並完全專注於創作中,其所表現及其所達的深度,至今仍讓我們驚異。」

藝術泰斗 璀璨湧動

關於抽象與具象,趙無極這麼說明:「我們不能把寫實畫和抽象畫分開來,唯一重要的是:必要性。一幅畫像、一張靜物,其實都是一回事:都是一種藉口,你要掌握它而不要為它所制,所謂『必要性』就是情感的真誠,同時使它深刻,不要想討好。」趙氏多年間歷經西方美學的洗禮,然而自小熟悉的東方傳統繪畫知識,仍不時召喚,此時他只能任由繪畫的興趣帶領著他,以心中真摯情感乘風於風土水火等自然現象,探索抽象畫的無窮宇宙,經過內在神髓的淘洗淬鍊,幻化為一各個只是性的形象「符號」,精緻地安排於畫布空間中,借畫寓情,不僅描繪實景實物,亦是書寫內在微觀,為自己開闢一處可以冥想遨遊的山水空間。

法國藝術史學者達尼埃爾‧馬歇索(Daniel Marchesseau)曾如此評論趙無極:「趙無極在創作中表現出以大自然為核心的思索,使古老傳統面對古代西方大師和當代藝術家們的創作。他同時受到兩種截然不同的視覺真實性影響,卻幸運的能夠將中國式的畫面布局和西方式的豐富色彩和諧的結合。」趙無極蘊著東西方古典詩性的精魂,不但汲取了中國文化和藝術的精髓,並成功以抽象的浪漫傳達了中國意境,並以抒情磅礡的筆觸,將觀者帶入宇宙洪荒中恣意悠遊,擁有精深的文學性與汩汩的詩意。趙無極的藝術成就極受西方重視,攬括了曾經風起雲湧的抽象藝術的諸般表現特徵:純烈的色彩、潑灑的筆觸、非具象的表現,於歐美風起雲湧的現代藝術史上佔有一席之地,亦備受東方推崇,他的作品遍藏於世界各國重要的美術館,其藝術的尊崇地位可謂實至名歸。

View More Works